Sacrificial Lambs

It’s difficult as the senior management team in University where I work don’t really appear to value the health and safety of their staff. This has been really highlighted though the Covid-19 pandemic, and especially the [highest] setting here in [my country]. Whilst some universities in [my country] have opted to go online for  all or part of Semester 1, 2022, others (such as the one that I work for) are maintaining that the delivery remains ‘face to face’  supported by online learning.

So every morning the lecturers get up for work like sacrificial lambs – could today be the day where you get infected or become a close contact? Who knows.

It’s unnerving for staff – and the lack of strong decision making and cohesive communications around teaching in a pandemic situation is making people feel even more stressed. And this stress ultimately affects teaching delivery.

I’m just glad that the bulk of my course is online for this Semester – at least then if I die from Covid-19, then the students will be able to carry on as if I’m alive. I’m guessing it’s pretty hard to do marking for your course after you are cremated, but hey, it’s a neoliberal vibe – we’ll deal with that problem several weeks after the solution is needed.

I love my job.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started